A newbie needs help!

msjones

Hello! A newbie here again!!!

First of all, I just want to say that I've been a member of LHCF for about a week now. You ladies are an AMAZING inspiration!!!!! My whole life I've been surrounded by black women who use grease to 'moisturize' their hair, and swear that EVERYTIME they get a relaxer touch up that they have to trim, or their hair will break off.

My hair journey started out when I first read Cynthia Howse's book on how to grow black hair.

Yesterday, I tried my first straight rollerset...I usually only rollerset when I want curly hair. I LOVE it. The only thing is...I'm trying to stretch my relaxer to 8 weeks (i used to go 3.5 weeks, so that's a lot for me...i get new growth fast, but end up just cutting it), so the new growth has forced my hair to be puffy looking!

How do I get rid of this puffy look? Otherwise, my hair is shiny, and feels super strong since I used Nexxus Emergencee w/ a deep conditioner before my roller-set. It LOOKS nice, but there is also NO slip! I have no idea how to get my hair to be silky without flat-ironing, or getting my hair washed at the salon.

ALSO, I tried co-washing mid-week, and it just made my hair weighed down and greasy looking.

I'm just super confused and looking for some advice from all you ladies w/ beautiful, bouncy hair!!!! Thanks!!!!!

Last edited:
Hi there!

Welcome!

I've only been here six weeks so I don't have all the answers to your questions. But, I'll tell you about some products that are working for me.

1. Puffy new growth. Sunsilk Straighten-Up 24/7 creme. You can get it at Wal-Mart, Target etc. You apply it to your hair as a leave-in before you rollerset. It is creamy and does straighten your hair out.