Am I suffering from moisture or protein overload?

LittleLuxe

I know this question has been asked a million times and I'm sorry to ask it again. Please nobody throw anything at me I'm just a poor defenseless newbie trying to figure out my own hair. :look: I've tried searching for the answers but I'm still stumped.

My hair doesn't feel musy, it doesn't stretch and then snap. It pretty much just snaps and leaves me staring at it in the palm of my hand. An innocent tug could guarantee a lost hair and a deep sigh. I thought for sure this meant I was in a protein overload and did my part to add moisture to my hair as well as do everything 'right'.

No heat, protective styling, low manipulation. Everyother week I Shampoo 1x a week with oil as a pre-poo, sometimes a 3 minute in-shower conditioner, a deep conditioner and a leave in. On opposing weeks I'd simply do an oil rinse (which I have a feeling i'm doing wrong anyway) and finish with a leave-in.

I moisturize 1 sometimes 2x a day and spray Chi Keratin Mist 1x a day...well the breakage is...less. But pretty much the same problem. Tug, snap, lost hair. Another poster told me this could be a moisture overload which has me :dazed:

What about all that stretching and mushiness I kept hearing that was a sign of moisture overload???

If it is moisture overload should I up the Keratin Mist or use something like Joico Reconstructor on my washe days? So confused.

wannabelong

It sounds like you have protein overload. I think CHI Keratin Mist is a protein and you should moisturize with something that does not have protein in it. Also, what are you deep conditioning with?