another messed up relaxer

Nubianrose

awright ladies, i applied motions oil relaxer (regular) last night on my semi-virgin 4bbb (tight tight curls) hair and left it on for 30 minutes. Nothing got straightened the way it was supposed to. and i missed some smoothing parts, so i still got a hella thick texturized/natural hair on my head. here's what i think im gonna do..braid it back in cornrows till about tuesday then imma relax it again and make sure to pay attn to the parts that didn't get done right, cuz i didn't get alot of the hair near my roots..god i jus got scared and took it out too early. cuz usually at the salon my junk gets left on for a good 40 minutes..dah well, let me know what yall think.

Nubianrose

pebbles

Nubianrose,

Did you apply the relaxer yourself? If you did, can you get someone to help you next time?

sassygirl125

Professional PJ
I'm no expert and I don't know anything about your hair except what you've said here, but...
I wouldn't relax again so soon. I'd braid it up and wait at least 5 weeks before I tried again.

LondonDiva

Nubianrose, is it possible that you overprocessed your hair rather than thinking you under processed it?

I agree with sassygirl wait before you do it again or better yet get it done professionally.

Kitkat

NubianRose, I agree with Pebbles, SassyGirl and LondonDiva. Correct me if I'm wrong, but it sounds as if you haven't relaxed your own hair very often. If this is the case, you should either get someone to help you or go to a salon. If the relaxer was on your hair for 30 minutes, that's a LONG time, girl! It's likely that your hair might be overprocessed. If I were you, I'd wait some time before relaxing again, making sure to do deep conditioning treatments along the way. Relaxing again this Tuesday might be way too soon. Good luck and keep us posted.

Tonya