Anyone wash hair with baking soda?

meverllyn1

Hi:wave:, I was on youtube the other day and a lady was talking about using baking soda to shampoo your hair. If you use baking soda too much can it dry your hair. I tried it last night, and:love: boy was my hair soft. Since i have gotten it soft i don't want to dry it out now. If baking soda is safe to use, then how often can i use it?

Meverllyn

chellero

Wife Supremacist
I tried the baking soda wash a couple of days ago for the first time and my hair turned out great too.It seems like it would safe enough to use on a regular basis because it doesn't strip your hair like shampoo can, but I am not an expert.

meverllyn1

Chellero, thanks for your reply. I was just on nappturality and someone was talking about putting baking soda in your conditoner (just a small amount). But she didn't say how often you can use it. So i emailed her ......waiting for her reply. But some was saying to often can be drying, i guess it depends on how much you use. If you use a small amount regularly, it might not be drying. I'll see.....just waiting to hear from her. Meverllyn

bluefolli

I use baking soda rinses after working out at the gym, sometimes. It gets it clean but sometimes it makes my hair too soft. For me that leads to SNAPville.

bluefolli

If I remember correctly, the PH is gentle enough to clean you scalp everyday. I am a no-poo girl 99% of the time, so I use it to make sure my scalp is fresh. Sometimes, CW can leave my scalp feeling coated and not very clean.

Tamrin

unapologetic
Other than softness, How exactly is baking soda good for the hair?

It does not contain the laurel sulphate that is in shampoo which is the lather agent which is a drying agent. It gets rid of the dirt but not your natural oils.

MsCounsel