Are There Any Naturals That Use Products With Sulfates?

DST1913

Since transitioning all I've been hearing is stay away from sulfates/cones. But I discovered that the Aussie moist works wonders on my hair. I feel like I'm losing so much hair with detangling and with that product I get LOTS if slip. I don't have to worry about tangles at all. Even knot today doesn't work as well. I'm so afraid to use it because everything I've read says absolutely not to use sulfates/ cones. I want to know if there are any naturals that have not listened to this advice and use some products with these ingredients and still achieved length.

Last edited:

Anaisin

Also do you mean silicones? It would make sense to continue using what works wonders on your hair

DST1913

Not using sulfates etc is a rule of the curly girl method not the "natural hair" method. There is no such thing. People with natural hair use a variety of products to achieve optimal health & length.
Hmm im new to this I thought they were one in the same curly girl/natural

Coilystep

@imperial_acquisitions
I love Aussie moist conditioner to detangle. I also shampoo with treseme flawless curls shampoo and use their rinse out conditioner to detangle. You to find what works best for you. If you are going to be using things with cones you need real shampoo to wash them out. I cowash occasionally but not as much as I use too when I first went natural.

Saludable84

Better Late Than Ugly
I stopped using sulfates a while back, but I will be honest, my moisture levels were always best when I used sulfates. My scalp was also less itchy. I also stuck with clear sulfates and used small amounts.

If sulfates work for you, why not use them? It's really hard finding an SLS free substitute.

rileypak

Wash Week™ Queen
I am a die-hard sulfate shampoo user. My favorite cleanser ever is a clarifying/chelating shampoo. My scalp has less issues when I use sulfates on a regular basis.