Balding and Bawling

zailless

Hi,
I am a newbie here. Just want to say hi to everyone. i have been lurking on the site from march last year so I have benefitted from your tips and advice.
I have used mtg surge and the vitamins. Originally my hair broke to the roots because of hair bleaching. I had half inch of hair in march 2005. now i have 7.5 inches natural hair when stretched but now I am balding to one side. I wear a wig over cornrows that I religiously moisturize with glycerine and surge moisture each day. I opened one of the cornrows to the front and found a smooth bald patch. then i opened another to my hair line and i only have fine hairs. I panicked the first day but i have since calmed down and i will see a dermatologist next week. the only thing i can think of is i stopped using mtg since january this year. exactly one month ago i mixed it with surge, but it burned my scalp so bad, i could pick giant flakes from the scalp. i dont know what caused it. maybe internal, dunno. any thoughts?

MizaniMami

Wow i was going to ask you about your relaxers but I read that you are natural.

Are you on any new medications? Stress? Life changing events?

I am so sorry about your hair situation and I hope you find the help that you need here, these ladies will help you.

zailless

Hi,
Thanks for responding. I am not on medications only vitamins but i do take weightloss products and i am wondering if that could have caused it. I dont have any stress that i know of. I looked at the bald patch with a magnifying glass and it looks like a scar like those alopecia pictures i see online. i see some tiny hairs peeking through. Dunno.

MizaniMami

Look on hte back of your weightloss products and see if it says anything about possible hair loss.

When I first read your post I thought alopecia too. Girl please let us know what it is when you go to the doctor. I hope everything will be okay.

zailless