Braid care

soslychic

I'm planning on getting braids in about a week to give my hair a break, but mainly to get some growth. My hair is already short (about 1/2-1 inch below neck in back), but I have noticed a ton of split ends and want to trim so I don't think I would be happy with the length of my hair before I get some more growth. Question: Since I'm not experienced in looking and finding split ends and I can't bring my hair around in the back to the front to see, do you think I should go ahead and trim about 1/2-1 inch so as to be sure that they are gone and I can start again (I've never had a trim basically)

So on to the braids: I've done a search for braid info, but I still have a few questions.

I want small braids, but want to avoid micros for fear of breaking my hair and causing more harm that good. But how small are micros? Could someone provide a pic or link?

Also, can I continue to use my CON shampoo for the braids or do I need a braid shampoo? And how often should I wash?

I plan on having my hair braided for about 5 months as to obtain a lot of new growth before relaxing and beginning to care for my actual hair only again. So if I leave the braids in for one month at a time and then take them out, giving my hair about 1-2 weeks rest, do you think I will experience any breakage from wearing braids for so long a time? I'm going to have my mom do it who has done it before so I can be sure that it isn't so tight.

HOw often do I need to oil my scalp (jojoba oil)

Can I condition my braids? IF so, how often?

I want to make my own braid spray so that I know exactly what goes in it. How does this sound:
glycerin
infusium 23
distilled water
drops of extra virgin olive oil
drops of castor oil
(the quantities of all of the ingredients I've yet to figure out. suggesions on that would be appreciated too)

Anything else important that I didn't mention please let me know.
Thanks in advance to all that respond.

Nessa