Braiding as a protective style..

dcstarr

How protective can it be???

I have been wearing braids for YEARS now, but without the proper maintenance/aftercare. Recently I've been getting human hair micros, relaxing my hair beforehand which has cause severe breakage. I KNOW I'm going to have to make the CHOP :perplexed I'm just wondering if I could still keep regular individuals or big kinky twists in my hair while I grow it out, and how to properly take care of it while braided/twisted... I know there are probably some related posts around here somewhere so if you guys can answer in here or post a link it will be greatly appreciated...

And prepare for lots of questions I'm a newbie bare with me!!! :lol:

Phoenix

I've had a lot of success wearing braids as a protective style. Here are the rules I live by:

-Never get your braids/twists too small. Aim for about the size of a pencil

-Never get the very edges of your hair (baby hair) braided. It is too fine and fragile to support braids.

-Never get your hair braided too tight. If you find that a braid is too tight, remove it immediately

Here is my routine while wearing braids:

-Wash weekly with diluted shampoo. Follow with Infusium 23 Leave-in

-MTG 2-3 times a week

-Spritz daily with mixture of water, oil, & glycerine

-Cover with a silk scarf each night

Braid Removal:

-Saturate braids with Unbraid braid removal spray

-GENTLY remove braids by combing from the bottom up

That's basically what I do. You may want to go to www.growafrohairlong.com and check out the Crown & Glory Method. My routine was taken from this method then tweaked to meet my own needs. Good luck!

dcstarr

Thanks for the Tips.. As far the glycerine where can I purchase that and what parts oil and water should I mix, and what kind of oil?? Should that as my pimary method of moisturizing??