Breakage/thinning

MisTatim

Hello, newbie here.

You ladies are full of excellent advice but I haven't quite seen my problem addressed. I'm hoping someone has some advice. My hair is relaxed, thick but not coarse. My back and sides are approx 7 inches long and my crown seems to be about 5. It was growing very well until the beginning of this year when I started experiencing breakage again.

I am experiencing breakage on the left side of my crown. This has happened in the past but most people tell me not to worry. My hair is so thick I have enough hair for two heads. But it's bothering me a lot this time because I have also noticed this particular part of my head itches excessively and the area isn't just breaking, it's thinner. I also have short pieces that are either new hair growing in or breakage throughout the top of my head. And breakage in the front of my head and the very back.

I last used an affirm relaxer (which burnt the crap out of my head). Every week I wash my hair at home I put on a pretreatment of Ojon, wash with Optimum Care, 2 min Queene Helene Protein, then 15 min with ORS Olive Oil replenishing pack. A few days a week I apply ORS olive oil Moisturinzing Hair Lotion and Profective Mega Growth. I wrap or braid my hair up every night and tie it with a silk scarf. I take GNC womens vitamins daily.

Occasionally, when $$ permits, I'll go to the Domincan salon for a roller set otherwise I just go for my relaxers. They speak little english and i speak little spanish. So all they seem to say is "oooh it's broken bad".

Whew! Ideally, I'd like to get my whole head to shoulder-length. My CHIEF priority is healthy hair though and the breakage clearly suggests my hair is not. Any advice?

shunta

How long have you been using Affirm? The reason Im asking is because over time, Affirm caused thinning and breakage for me. It wasnt until much later that I realized that Affirm was the culprit.:(

MisTatim