conditioner problems?

lwilliams1922

I have run into problems recently. I have been using the ceramic flat iron (Chi I believe) for over 2 years on my relaxed 4a/b hair. I get relaxed in the salon every 6 weeks and was doing conditioner washes every 3 to 4 days then I would comb straight and sit under the dryer before using biosilk to flat iron. This worked well for me for over 2 years.

In the last 6 months however I noticed a quick change. My hair started breaking and thinning both from the roots or any where in between.

During my investigation I started deep conditioning more often to improve the condition with no benefits. Then I started to look at the biosilk. I was thinking the formula was changed because I began to notice the smell of alcohol with the new bottles I was purchasing. I even purchased from several different authorized sellers to make sure I was not getting duped. Then I started researching the label ingredients on the internet and found that it contained alcohol SD 40 (I believe but I don't have the bottle here at work with me). So I began a massive campaign to find and try as many other heat protectants as I could. I spent a lot of money but I did not find out that stood out and slowed down my breakage.

Then just the other day I though of something else. Around 6 months ago I also changed the conditioner for my conditioner washes. I was using a mild form of suave. I remember that I could no longer find the exact type I was using so I started using the biosilk conditioner to do the conditioner washes around that time. So when I think more about it I that is around the time when I started having problems getting all the conditioner out of my hair. After rubbing my scalp and rinsing for 10-15 minutes it would look like I got it all out but as I dried my hair I was always find more.