Conditioners for Color Treated Hair

frostydoll

K so I'm a newbie and I've been doing lots of research. I love this site so much helpful advice.

Anyway, I've never had color treated hair but I just recently got highlights at the crown area of my hair to see if I liked them. I LOVE them! Getting highlights stopped me from cutting my hair out of boredom. Anyway, I'm planning on getting a head full of highlights the first week of April but I need to know how to care for them.

Right now my regimen is pretty simple. I'm natural 3c/4a. I do primarily conditioner washes 2 or 3 times a week (using Pantene Hydrating Curls or V05) and depending on how many products I've been using I wash my hair w/ Carol's Daughter shampoo once a week or once every two weeks. I try to deep condition once a week but that doesn't always happen. I'm a wash n' go type of girl since my hair doesn't really look cute in twists (I have fine hair). I use Paul Mitchell Foaming Pomade and I've just recently started experimenting with a sample of Miss Jessie's Curly Pudding and Elasta QP Mango Butter. Oh and I just started using Boundless Tresses this past week.

I don't want to end up having tons of breakage because of the color so I'm wondering if any other naturals (or anyone) w/ color can give me advice as to what products I might want to use on color treated hair.

I really want to have BSL (straightened) hair or close by my 24th birthday in September. So I know I need to be really careful since I'll be using a chemical product in my hair.

Any guidance ladies????

Last edited:

bajanplums1

keracare has a line for color treated hair as does elucence. I have never had colored hair, so I can't say more. But I love both lines.

hothair