Crown and Glory Method Users

flower

I have been using this method for two years. I believe I may be doing something wrong because my hair should be longer. Please respond if you have any suggestions.

My rountine is as follows while in braids:

1.) Wash hair 1x a week with diluted Dudu Osun Black Soap
2.) Spray hair with braid concoction nightly( aloe vera juice, castor oil, lecthin,glycerin, and rosemary oil)

My rountine is as follows while in out of Braids:

1.) Deep Condition with henna, wash with black soap
2.) Wear afro puff or flat twist for 2 weeks
3.) Get braids

LiLi

It doesn't sound like you are doing anything wrong but I'm not familiar with the products that you are using (other than the castor oil).

Question 1: Do your braids feel moisturized when you take them down? If not, then you used re-evaluate the products that you are using.

Question 2: Have you actually taken pictures (like before and now pics). If not, you make be retaining length but just don't see it.

Just remember, your hair is always growing, it's the length retention that you have to focus on. :)

StartinOvah

how many inches did you gain? perhaps something other than your haircare regimen is influencing your hair growth (diet, exercise, stress, etc).

sareca

I love C&G, but for me it was just a starting point. I take down a couple of braids every week and see what my hair needs then do what I'd do if it wasn't braided. I pre-poo my braids w/ amla oil. I steam my braids. I condition my hair w/ leave-ins (protein or moisture depending on what it needs). My hair was dry as a bone whenever I followed her method too closely. :nono: The biggest thing I've learned is I HAVE TO condition my hair when it's braided.

Last edited:

Radianthealth

sareca said: