Fall/Winter Routines

CurlyCoilycourt

Now that Fall is right around the corner are you ladies putting some products on the back burners or continuing to use the same ones? I mainly stay in braid-outs or wet buns(which I know are out for this season) and the products I use are geared towards humid weather.

I'm not an expert on certain ingredients i.e humectants and all :ohwell: but mainly wanted to know is it ok to use the same products in cold weather that I used this summer?

ms.blue

My products generally stay the same. I mainly use the qhemet line and in the warmer months I like to use brbc b/c its lighter but in the winter, I like using aohc more. Everything else stay the same.

naijamerican

KQT20, I have heard it said on several different natural hair sites that humectants aren't advisable during the winter months, because they will pull moisture from the air that isn't there and will thus dry out your hair. My knowledge of the science behind this is shaky, so hopefully someone else will chime in.

Some people use braids in the summer, but for me, I actually plan on going to braids this winter. I need to keep my hair in protective styles to retain length in the winter because the dry hair wreaks havoc on my ends. I hope to do the crown and glory method with Senegalese twists. :yep: I'm also thinking of simply braiding my own hair (without extensions) and rocking that all fall and winter long. :yep:

Shadiyah