Hair vows 2023

long.hair.dont.care

Hello ladies,

This thread is to help remind you (and me) that there is optimal way that your hair prefers to be treated, and to encourage you to be consistent with that in 2023!

There are a few prompts bolded, but feel free to share whatever you like.

What are you committing to for hair health and length retention in 2023?

As for me, I am going back to what works the best for me - foreal this time. I've been saying this for the past three years, and at some point I stop doing what's best in the name of style, then at the end of the year I always tell myself "if only I had stuck with what works best throughout the whole year, I'd be farther". I had a reality check earlier today when I reported that I retained from BSB to BSL this year. Yes, I am greatful,. I am not doing this to myself for another year.

What works the best for me to retain healthy hair is:

Long term protective styling + scalp massage have made the most difference and allowed me to grow passed my hair plateau, and that's what i'll be committing to for at least 10 months out of the year.

Hair vows for 2023:
  • keep cornwows in for 3 months, crochet over them, change crochet after 6 weeks
  • by 3 months take down hair, detangle, shampoo, deep condition, dust or trim before getting cornrows again
  • shampoo monthly
  • scalp massage + moisturize and oil hair daily
Hair goal photo from the archive:

IMG_20181027_204836.jpg
I'm adding this old photo from October 27, 2018 to remind me where I go if I am faithful to my vows.

Your turn. :)

Hair vows for 2023:

Hair goal from the archive:

Last edited:

Chicoro

5 Year Shea Anniversary: Started Dec 16th, 2016!
  1. Pre-pooing with warm oil on dirty dry hair to remove shedded hair to gently begin the detangling and braid take down process.
  2. Deeply moisturizing hair with flax seed gel combination or an aloe vera combination.