How much did your texture change?

cch24

Hi Ladies,

I've been transitioning for 17 months now and I understand that the perm hair is weighing my natural texture down. My question is, when you finally chopped, how much did your texture change? Was there a point in your transition where you could estimate what your texture would be? Were you right?

I've always been curious to see pictures of people's new growth with relaxed ends, and then pictures of their natural texture. Does anyone have anything to share? It would be greatly appreciated!

(Just in case this thread would be worthless without pictures I attached a picture of my new growth in the back of my hair with relaxed ends, and a picture of a piece I found towards the front of my hair that has only a piece of a relaxed end left. These pictures don't really help answer my question however, because I already know my texture is different in the back)

TIA

Last edited:

ms.blue

the relaxed hair made my hair look wavy but it turned curly once it eas cut. I had about six months of new growth when I BC'd. To me the curls became more defined as my hair grew longer.

preciouslove0x

Great question!! I want to know too. Although I am newly natural, I only had my hair out for a day before I put braids in (only because school is a little stressful right now and I dont have time to *style* my hair)

Dont mean to hijack but I would also like to know after you BC how long does it usually take to see your true texture?? I've heard that it takes months (or weeks) but I'm not sure why that would be the case.... :ohwell:

plastic

middle

side

The attachments show the same areas.
In my opinion my texture did not change , but it did not seem like what I thought it would be ... at all. After I chopped my hair curled into little balls and now that it is growing .. it is just a fro

Attachments

• washngo 026.jpg
    washngo 026.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 61
  • washngo 023.jpg
    washngo 023.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 55