Is it safe to go from lye to no-lye???

Ciacia

Hi Ladies,

I will relax my hair this afternoon.
I have been relaxing my hair with lye for the last 2 years and I wanted to give a try to the ORS no lye relaxer.
Is it safe in your opinion? :ohwell:

many thanks in advance for your great help :grin:

Ciacia

buuuuuuuuuuuuump
i know there are a few people connected out there, can you please help
a simple yes it is safe or no it is not safe will be enough:spinning:

Dposh167

i've done it successfully. I was lye for mostly 10 years, then went to no lye for a year in college...and then went back to lye....

...im glad i got to experience no lye because i found out i hate it. It didn't do anything terrible to my hair, but i clearly saw the difference of the two types of relaxers while i stretch. and that's why i'm sticking with lye from now on:grin:

MzOptimistic

i've done it successfully. I was lye for mostly 10 years, then went to no lye for a year in college...and then went back to lye....

...im glad i got to experience no lye because i found out i hate it. It didn't do anything terrible to my hair, but i clearly saw the difference of the two types of relaxers while i stretch. and that's why i'm sticking with lye from now on:grin:

If you don't mind me asking. Why do/did you hate no-lye? How did it make your hair feel? If I wasn't too afraid for my hair, I would try lye for myself and see the difference:blush:

Ciacia

thanks for the reply poochie
as I want to stretch my relaxer for 12 weeks i think I will keep on with lye relaxers
I'm glad to see that you did not experiment damage though

vestaluv1

This is not true for everybody, but no-lye CAN be very drying to the hair.
I used the regular ORS No-Lye for years and it eventually dried my hair out.
I don't know if I can blame the relaxer because I have not used lye for at least 10 years and before i used ORS, I was using Gentle Treatment No-Lye and my hair was fine with that.