Is there a 'BEST' flat iron for natural hair?

yodie

I'm using a Sedu and my hair just swells right back up. Hate it! My hair generally laughs at plug in appliances, but I know there has to be a flat iron that can straighten my hair. Suggestions?

I wash, blowdry, press and still get puffiness after I flat iron.

I was thinking of maxiglide. Any naturals love theirs? Any naturals swear by Joico's new steam iron?

MiWay

I'm not fully natural and I'm still a flatironing newbie, but I love my generic Chi from Sally's. I wash, blowdry and flatiron and can get my hair bone straight with no reversion for at least a week, sometimes longer, if I wrap it daily. My hair isn't thick/coarse, so I don't know if that makes a difference.

Kay.Dee

Seems like a lot of naturals love the maxiglide. I plan on buying one when my hair is worth flat ironing. I think the steam helps with naturals who are prone to dryness.

When I first went natural I used the genric chi but my hair looked quite dusty but that was probably my fault or more attributed to my hair texture.

westNDNbeauty

Technique and the hair's condition plays a HUGE role, but if I were to name a flat iron, it would be one that is ceramic and has a TEMPERATURE GAUGE <----very important. Chi's don't have true temperature gauges.

longhairlover

Personally...I don't think there is a "BEST" flat iron for naturals.
It's all in the technique.

what she said ^ I believe it's the technique, but also what styling products you use, stay away from products that are glycerin based because as soon as you hit the heat or humidity poof city they draw in moisture, not natural but my hair acts like it is and summer is not my friend or any humid kind of weather.

sabino moisture block seems to be everyones friend, I use Rusk Str8 styling lotion not water based and my hair stays sleek/straight (lots of newgrowth), still haven't tested it in real heat or humidity but in the rain I haven't had any issues thus far.......................