Is there a group of you who are transitioning by using straight hair styles?

slimbyapril2005

I would like to join a group that likes straight hair styles during their transitioning period instead of braid outs, twistouts, etc. I used those styles when I was natural but last year I permed my hair (to my regret) and am fed up with the two textures now that I have decided to transition again.

I will probably wash and flat iron with a heat protectant 1-2x per week. Is anyone here doing the same? If so can you share your experience, growth, and regimen.

Thanks.

Diva_Esq

I do 1/2 and 1/2 pretty much...before it was about 80% wet bunned, 20% flat ironed with a blue moon twistout or twist and curl (I've been transitioning since May 2009 and have only done a twistout 2x). I got burned out on bunning, so I am giving my hair a break on the pulling. I would say I do a week flat ironed (I only flat iron that one time and then I wrap every night thereafter), and 1 week wet bunned with daily co-washing. HTH!

melissa-bee

I was doing so up until last week. I thought i'd try braidouts for 2 weeks. I just used to wash, condition, airdry then flat iron. I do that once every 2 weeks. I prefer it that way because i don't have to deal with two textures. I'm only 23 weeks post and my relaxed ends still break every time i wash so there is no visible progress in length even though i have a good amount of new growth.

I do 1/2 and 1/2 pretty much...before it was about 80% wet bunned, 20% flat ironed with a blue moon twistout or twist and curl (I've been transitioning since May 2009 and have only done a twistout 2x). I got burned out on bunning, so I am giving my hair a break on the pulling. I would say I do a week flat ironed (I only flat iron that one time and then I wrap every night thereafter), and 1 week wet bunned with daily co-washing. HTH!