Ladies be careful!

Nayna

Unbothered
Hello all!

Here's the deal. I'm a junior stylist in a natural salon that doesn't straighten hair. So a few of our clients just opt to go elsewhere to get their hair straightened. Recently a few of our clients have been telling us stories of salons mixing relaxers with conditioners in order to get their hair straighter. I'll give two examples.

First example. A client used to get Dominican blowouts. She was short on time and just stuck with a rollerset. She's a solid 4b. When I saw her she had broken pieces at her scalp and her hair was straightish/curlyish and not quite 4 anymore. She said the minute they rinsed the dc out her hair was no longer it's texture. After the rollerset she said her hair just went downhill.

Second example. A clients hair was originally SL. When I met her I assumed she had recently BC'd and still had relaxed ends. She informed me that she's been natural for years and that she's only been getting it pressed. But on the last press her hair was sleeker and shinier than usual. She said her stylist mixed something but she wasn't paying attention and since she didn't smell anything she didn't think anything was up. She did say that she got a 15 minute dc with whatever was mixed. After it was all said and done her hair gradually fell off and she now has only 2 inches of hair. She still has straight ends but I just felt bad cutting it all off.

I could go on but I think you guys get it. If you go to a salon where they complain about the thickness of your hair or things like that don't let them touch your hair. Both of these ladies had thick hair 4 type hair. My guess is that they are just putting it in and not neutralizing afterwards. I can't think of any places that shampoo after a dc.

I don't normally start threads but there was enough people to make me see that something is afoot. Why people would do such a nasty thing is beyond me.

Pompous Blue