Modified Maximum Hydration Challenge 2023

Togolese

Hi there, I can't believe I came back and am surprised I was a member since 2008.:D Beginning this year I felt so nostalgic and wondered, if there are still people out there doing some sort of modified version of the maximum hydration method. If there's an active thread I'm missing, please guide me there. I've been doing it on and off since 2015. I do use commercial shampoos and conditioners, but also use henna, make herbal tea rinses, do clay masks and wear wash and gos. Often I feel lonely because I'm somewhere in the middle of the commercial but also alternative way. It would be so cool to connect with others to see where our hair will get in December 2023 with a similar routine. So how to do it?

Instead of doing this routine every 3 days: Just once a week. Depending on your mood, health, life and work schedule. I wash once to twice a week. If I wash twice, I don't do the clay step. No Cherry Lolas, Baking Soda or Apple Cider Hair washes needed. It's not about low porosity hair only, but leaving your hair as buildup free as possible to enhance your natural curl type.

The Hair Wash:

Week Zero

Clarify

Start with a clarifying shampoo for a fresh beginning. If you live in hard water areas or swim often, use a chelation shampoo. From this point you only clarify once a month, if you hair needs additional clarifying. If you use clay masks regularly with acidic liquids like acv there's maybe no need to do this.
Follow up with a Moisturising conditioner and detangle your hair or Moisturising deep conditioner (30 minutes, longer isn't needed unless instructions say shorter or longer) and detangle after. You can use heat, heat cap or just shower steam.

Week One and future
Cleanse