moisturizing and sealing

heyfranz

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie who's been lurking. Hair's my story. I bc'd twice over the past four years and went back to relaxing. My hair didn't seem to really grow as a natural, but of course that was before my daughter introduced me to LHCF. I now know what caused my breakage, but that's for another thread.

Can someone explain moisturizing (with what product) and sealing (i will use castor or evoo) and what i should be using as a leave-in? I started MT and OCT last week and i know that i shouldn't be using anything with protein. I have fine 4a/b relaxed hair and am planning to henna this weekend (with body art quality of course)

Thanks

You will get a lot of answers and there are lots of threads on this. But here's what I do.

I moisturize with a creme based product (Mizani h20 nightime) which has a lot of water in the formula.

I seal with a mixture of coconut/castor oil.

I shampoo every 5 days or so and I use Giovanni Direct Leave-In.

Thanks. Does Mizani have protein? Every moisturizer i have, Sta Sof Fro, Hollywood Carrot Creme, has wheat or soy protein and i don't think i can use these with MT. I would love to try the Mizani.

I moisturize with Mizani Rose H2O and seal with olive oil. It has really helped me retain length. When it's freshly relaxed, I do it only at night. When my hair starts getting extra dry (usually when it's close to relaxer time), I do it morning and night. At night, I wrap with a silk scarf for protection, and I sleep on satin pillowcases.

For leave-in, I use Matrix leave-in spray, primarily because my shampoo and conditioner are also by Matrix (Biolage moisture therapy).

To moisturize, I like NTM Silk-Touch leave in, Kids Organics Shea Butter, and lately I've been using Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream. To seal I use coconut oil. I apply the moisturizer in sections, followed by the oil to seal.