My 4b Natural Styling Attempt on nape length hair.....

So yesterday I went and experimented a little with my natural 4b hair. Most of the time I wear it in a puff or in twists (not as much twists as of late though since I damaged my hair with heat.) I was tired of wearing puffs and fearing for my edges. So I decided to try to do a bantu knot out/twist out.

I did it on dry hair for the most part. I slightly dampened my hair with a little water and applied some leave in conditioner. I put some IC Fantasia gel and twisted with two strands, then twisted that around itself into a bantu knot. I did this in medium sections, so I would say there were about 9-10 of them. Then I wrapped in a satin scarf and let it dry overnight.
)
I am proud for it coming out decently :grin: It being my first attempt and all lol. (I am no hair expert by annnnnyyyy meannnns :look:
But I still feel like there is a lot of unnecessary frizzing and some areas aren't curling. Maybe my hair wasn't moisturized enough? (My hair always thirsts for more) Any tips on styling bantu knot outs or twist outs?

Attachments

• DSC05308.jpg
    DSC05308.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 147
  • DSC05317.jpg
    DSC05317.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 142
  • DSC05316.jpg
    DSC05316.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 129
  • DSC05313.jpg
    DSC05313.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 106

Eritreladiee

I think it looks really cute on you, especially for a 1st attempt. To get it less frizzy, I would think to do the twists/knots when your hair is wet- not slightly dampened. Also if you use an anti-frizz instead of leave in conditioner underneath the gel- that might help too (?). And when you're taking the twists out, perhaps you could try doing it with some coconut (or whatever else) oil on your fingertips to give it a little extra shine and keep it from frizzing as your unraveling your hair. Once again- really cute 'do :grin:.

FroFab