natural hair q's.........

explosiva9

I'm new to natural hair and I have a short twa and wants my hair to grow. I have been scrolling thread after thread but there are so many and for now I want just a few questions answered.
- how do I define my curls?
- some people say that henna loosens curls.. how so?
- what is a se texturizer?
- any ayurvedic naturals?
- how can I get looser curls with chemicals? Also definition of my curls without chems?
- any tips for beginners? I have never had my hair natural and I'm really nervous.

Thanks in advance

Trini_Chutney

Peeing in my shower
Hello there! I'm newly natural too but I think I can answer some of your questions.

define your curls- there are a few ways to do this, gel, kinky curling custard, conditioner etc. I would suggest you google the curly girl method, and search define curls in you tube.

I don't know exactly how it does it but a lot of people say that henna loosens their curl pattern if they don't add amla powder to it.

There are lots of ayurvedic naturals and relaxed on this board, I think there's even an ayurveda support thread. Search ayurveda support and see if that helps.

The only tip I can give you is to make sure your hair gets lots of moisture, try deep conditioning at least once a week so your hair doesn't get thirsty.

Hopefully some of the naturals who have done this for a while will chime in for you. Good luck!

jamaraa

Hi explosiva didn't know you were still around. If you're still interested in ayurveda, that'll help your transition.

luvn_life

I absolutely love Ayurveda!! Once I get more natural hair (I'm transitioning) I will definitely be mixing Shikakai, Amla and Brahmi tea in my conditioner. It makes my hair super soft.

A texturizer is basically a perm it just doesn't get your hair bone straight. So if you use that you will no longer be natural. But alot of the sisters use it when they don't want bone straight hair, but they want their hair texture a little looser.