NATURAL HAIR SUCKS

Afrolinda

Well, you probably already know that I don't feel that way myself. But some recent transitioners on the AOLHair Talk board do!

The post began with this discussion:

"I am trying so hard to hang in here, but going natural really sucks. I have always had naturally long hair, however I've been relaxing it for more than 25 years. In recent years, I've noticed my hair has begun to thin in the very top and around the frontal lobe. I switched from regular relaxers to mild, then eventually down to a kiddie perm. About 90 days ago, I finally made the decision to just let the relaxer go. I still have all of my long hair, but I have about 2" if new growth. I am going nuts!!! I have to wet it to comb it. I have put lots of moisturizer in it because I'm worried that it will start to break and look bad. Wearing it down is not an option so I keep it in a ponytail.
Does anyone know what else I can do with this stuff. I don't even remember what it was like to have natural hair and I have NO idea of how to care for it. I don't do wigs, but I may have to make an exception if I can't find some alternatives.
Help me someone please!!"

Help came in the form of many, many follow up comments... and now I'm happy to chime in with my two cents. Fret not -- I know you're not alone!
Just recently I got cries for help from two ladies I've known since high school. One high school classmate, Roxanne, lamented the endless detangling of her hair every day and cited that as a reason to return to relaxer. The other sent me a lengthy letter which I'll share with you.
"I am writing to tell you my sad hair story and was wondering if you can point me in the right direction.