Natural/Organic Shampoos=Hard Hair?

africa

Hey ladies,

So I have been staying away from sulfate poos for over 2 years now (except after getting a relaxer because of the neutralizer) and have only been using natural/organic shampoos.

They ALWAYS make my hair hard!!! My hair feels stuck together and like a brillo pad afterwards. I always rush to slap on some conditioner after I wash and do not even manipulate it. I've been thinking that it was okay because at least I wasn't using any sulfates. Now I am starting to wonder... It must be doing some kind of damage for my hair to be feeling like that. It's almost like its' drying out my already dry hair more. Maybe I should go back to sulfates because none of them ever made my hair feel like that.

Has anyone else had this experience or have any thoughts about this?

I have tried Aubrey's products, Jason Naturals, & Avalon and a few other brands I can't remember...all with the same effect.

thanks,
Africa

Last edited:

kitchen_tician

Yes, I've also experienced this, but since transitioning I'm starting to realize that my natural hair is "ok" with the natural poo, but my relaxed ends hate it. The only one that seems to work "ok" is Jason's Sea Kelp poo, but it's still "some-timey".

My hair REALLY likes natural conditioners, but the poos are still trial and error for me. I've pretty much given up on the quest for the finding the perfect natural poo, at least until I eventually cut off my relaxed ends. :ohwell:

When I don't feel like dealing with the natural poos, I'll use just a dab of regular poo and dilute it with water in a bottle.

CarLiTa

ugh they're horrible!

Giovanni 50:50 shampoo sucks... i tried it, planning to switch to organic shampoos and I went right back to Nexxus. it was awful!!

I do love the natural conditioners though, very detangling

africa