Naturals who straighten: what do you do with your edges?

AJellyCake

I'm assuming you straighten them also :look:, but what I'm really wondering is how?

I'm transitioning and will straighten my hair in December for the first time in 6 months :)yay:). My edges are almost completely natural. I think I will do my first rollerset, so I am just looking for tips on how to get the edges in particular straight and how you maintain them. If you rollerset, do you use little rollers just for the edges (really, I've never done this before. Sorry if that's a dumb question. :spinning:)? If you only flat iron, do you have a special technique for getting the edges straight?

And, of course, how do you maintain the straight edges until you wet your hair again?

Thanks in advance!

Rainy

I usually flat iron my hair and skip other methods. If you prefer to skip heat, I find good smoothing gel really works. A little gel and a scarf are always great to lay down those edges. Roll up your hair, apply the gel, use a small brush to lay down the edges and wrap a scarf around the hairline and let it dry.

Nonie

I just brush them.

This is what my edges look like if I don't bother them:

This what they look like when I brush them:

Here's another look at my edges after I brush them:

I've never been a fan of gelling down edges. Even when wearing my hair natural, I just brush the edges to get this:

Rocky91

NYE side boob.
I use a mini flat iron for my edges, to make sure they get super straight to begin with.
when I work out, I tie a bandana tightly around them, and if i leave it alone until it dries, it remains fairly straight.
If I am going somewhere fancy, I'm not above a small touch up with the flatiron.
after a while, when they just get fuzzy, i don't bother with heat, and i whip out my ORS edge control, which smooths them out. by then my flatiron job is in a ponytail and i'm ready to wash anyways.

AJellyCake