Need Help New to Natural Hair

natural2008

Hello All,
I am new to LHCF. I had worn braides for years and in March of this year decided to wear my natural hair. So I went to the hair shop in March and got a really good trim and my type 4B hair is a little bit past my ears. I am having a hard time with trying to style my hair type. I tried to two strand twist my hair wet and when it dries I wear a twist out which tends to look shrunken and stiff. Would it be better if I blow dry my hair, do a light press and then two strand twist so that I can have a more relaxed twist out instead of a shruken twist? I would like to wear more styles but find it hard when I twist my hair wet.

Thank you all for your time in advance :yawn:

JustKiya

Welcome!

A lot of ladies twist their hair dry, for the very reasons you are finding there. The blowdrying, pressing, etc isn't needed - just braid your hair up into a couple of fat braids while it's wet, and let it dry. Then take those down, and make your two strand twists from those - they won't shrink up as much, and the twistout should be more 'free'.

Good luck, and enjoy your hair!

Nonie

I too twisted my hair dry and then would wash in twists and just drip-dry. When I tired of wearing twist, I'd undo and get a defined twist-out. I don't think it was very shrunken. BTW, I didn't have any product with that. When I tried to do a twist-out w/ products... I got this. :lachen:

Anancy

Im quite rubbish at giving advice, especially if i haven't experienced the same issue.

Im wondering if it has something to do with what products u are using, maybe some shea butter will help to moisterise your hair and make you hair hang more lose, rather than stiff.

I do my twists on dry hair and i use aloe vera gel.

I find that S-curl is great on my hair when i wear a braid-out, maybe it will help with your twst-outs.

msa

Hi!! :wave: