Negative comment about natural hair(long)

BW1

I want your opinion about this. Maybe, I am naive i don't know. I made an assumption about someone because they were from Africa.

Saturday, I went to get my hair braided. I have been transitioning for about 4 months and I asked the girl who braids by hair If I cut my hair off at this length would she be able to grab it. Her response was to wait until it is a certain length (she showed about what length in mirror). So another lady in the salon ask me why do I want to go natural and how am I going to wear my hair if I go natural. Before i could respond the girl (Nigerian) who braids my hair said I can twist, cornrow,bantu knot etc....
So, the other ladies' response was I can't do natural I have to have straight hair (relaxed). I said well you came out of the wound with natural hair. Her response was that is when I was a baby it is cute when you are a baby, but not when you are an adult. I didn't say anything after that because I am going to do what I want to do. The reason why I say maybe I am naive is because the lady that made negative comments is from Africa (Ghana,I think) I would think since she is grew up in Africa that she would be more open or accepting of a person wearing their natural hair texture. Please school me about this. I hope I did not offend anyone for making this assumption. I really want to understand why one would feel this way especially when they grew up in Africa.

BTW-I will upload pics later.

caligirl

The African women that I have seen mostly wear braided extensions. The only African women I have seen wearing their hair natural a lot is Ethiopian women. They wear a lot of fros, cornrows, etc.

jasmine26

i don't want to generalize but i had a similar experience. before going on a vacation, i wanted braids. i went in to an african braid shop, and asked the braider if she could fit me in for the next day and if she could braid short hair.