Newbie Looking for Long, Natural 4b's

HairPhoenix

Hi Everyone! :newbie:

Wow, I finally made it in here! (I don't have a cool username. I didn't think about it and now I can't seem to change it. :confused: ) I have been scouring this website for a few months while I was trying to decide what to do with my hair (nearly 17 hours straight, last weekend). I think LHCF is great and it is wonderful to see such Sisterhood on the net.

I have known that black women can grow long hair from when I was very young. My hair had always been at shoulder length or just below when I was young, and before I started relaxing. Other women in my family also tend to have long hair. Unfortunately, I faced a lot of hair prejudice when I was growing up. Being dark-skinned with long hair, I had a lot of animosity thrown my way. That caused me a lot of emotional damage in my younger years. :cry3: But I am older now and I am over what other people think. And I just say "Down with Haters!" :cool:

Anyway, I am in the process of transitioning several aspects of my life and the main one is my hair. I am at 19 weeks post relaxer and I have nearly 2 inches of new growth. I was trying to decide if I wanted to relax again or if I wanted to go natural. I envy my mother's locks, but I don't think I am ready for such a commitment. I saw that some of you have decided to go natural without a BC and that interested me. I'm not afraid of having short hair. I have had short hair (boy short) several times. It just won't look good on me right now since I am overweight and have a round face. If I cut it short now, I will look like a pumpkin head. :lachen: