Please help me learn how to straighten my natural hair without damaging it!

sparkle25

Hello girls!

I am new to this healthy hair thing, but im moving along greatly! I have never been a perm girl or a glue in tracks girl, or a sew in weave gilr etc etc, so i had minimal damage to begin with. Just damage from neglect. I wore braids for most of my life, and then latter started doing quick weaves with a stocking cap to protect my hair from the glue. However all the gel that it takes to smooth your hair down with a quick weave was drying my hair causing breakage and i was combing it with a small toothed European comb and also applying mineral oil products to my scalp. :wallbash:

I know all about moisurizing and doing the right things to keep it healthy such as; only combing hair with a wide tooth comb with condtioner in it, the right ammount of protein and moisture ( no protein for me... dont need it and wont use it till my hair tells me it needs it), using the right oils (minimal oil for me), non sulphate shampoos etc. I am now finding products that work great for me hair and my hair is now thriving. I actually really like my hair, when before i use to just hide it and worry about it the next time i did my hair over. Thanks so much for that ladies.

Now that my hair is thriving, pretty soon i want to do a lenght check. i dont & havent known how long my hair is for years and now that it is actually nice, i wanna see.

I need you ladies to help me learn how to straigten my hair! I want to get it really straight without damaging it. So what are some techniques? I dont know how to stlye my natural hair at all:nono: & havent been researching it because i want health before style.

Do i wash and condition first?