preserving rollersets

Innocent_Kiss

My roommate rollerset my hair. The results came out SO WELL. I loosley tied a scarf around my edges and the next morning, my hair was a matted mess. She used Organic Root Stimulator Setting lotion to set my hair. Any tips on preserving the style?

imani97

You can pincurl your hair to maintain the curl. I'm not very good at explaining how to do it, but if you do a search for "pincurl" there should be posts with a good explanation and probably a link to someone's fotki. I've also heard of people doing a "mohawk" set, but I've never done that.

GodsPromises

The Credit Countess
Some people swears by pincurling but it doesn;t work for me. I have to set my hair every night. I don't use as many rollers as my intial set but just enought not to look a mess in the moring.

redgirlusa

Hi, I'm new to the board but I've been doing small bantu knots to preserve my roller sets. It comes out with spiral curls when I take them down.:)

Last edited:

LaReyna756

Depending on the length of your hair, you could try pinning it up into an updo. I do this and then do a couple of pincurls at the nape where my hair's a bit shorter.

Isis

redgirlusa said:
Hi, I'm new to the board but I've been doing small bantu knots to preserve my roller sets. It comes out with spiral curls when I take them down.:)
Welcome Redgirlusa!:) I'll bet the spirals are pretty too. How many do you usually make and are the ends smooth as they were from the rollerset?

PEACHEY

I HAVE BEEN DOING ROLLERSETS FOR THE PAST THREE MONTHS. I TOO DO NOT HAVE SUCCESS WITH PRESERVING THE SET WITH OUT ROLLING IT UP. I ROLL MY HAIR EVERY NIGHT WITH THE SPONGE ROLLERS THAT HAVE THE SATIN COVER ON THEM. I DO NOT USE ANY PATICULAR AMOUNT OF ROLLERS NOR DO I PAY TOO MUCH ATTENTION ON HOW I ROLL IT BECAUSE DUE TO THE WET SET THE CURLS FALL RIGHT IN PLACE WHEN I TAKE THE SPONGE ROLLERS OUT ANYWAY (I JUST ROLL IT TO MAINTAIN).