• SL - BSL or beyond

Votes: 32 22.4%
  • i started at apl or longer

Votes: 6 4.2%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

IMFOCSD

Hello everyone!

I have been on a protective styling craze for about a year and i am to the point where i wanna enjoy my hair more but i also want to continue retaining my length.

I am currently right in between CBL & APL and i am texlaxed minus about the last inch of hair.

Are there any other ladies who retains great lengths wearing low mani styles or do you swear by protective styles or do you wear your hair daily with no problems retaining length?

Would you mind stating your starting and current length, hair type, if your natural or relaxed and do you PS, low mani, or wear your hair daily.

Thanks so much :)

Evolving78

i wear low mani styles. i was in a protective style for a year. my hair needed to be free. i don't have any issues with retention. i've been wearing my hair out for six months now. the only issue i had was knots and tangles with shrunken hair. now i wear twist outs.

SmileyNY

hmmm.... Is this scientific? I'm 3 things on the poll :lol:

ETA: I'm BSL & Texlaxed. I protective style 50% of the time and W&G the other half.

Last edited:

bride91501

I wear protective styles 99% of the time. My retention has been near 100% since I started my HHJ, and I attribute much of that to my PSs. With the knowledge I've gained on the board over the last year, I'm pretty sure I could retain at least around 75% of what I grew if I wore my hair out more, but I'm on a growing mission so that's just not gonna happen right now lol.

Anyway, my hair, especially my ends, tend to get much drier when my hair is loose, so much so that I've had to M&S up to 2-3x per day. I could get away with skipping a day of M&S when I'm in my PSs- huge difference. PS definitely work best for me, at least at this point in my journey.

ETA: I'm a natural 4b, and am in between SL & APL (about 1" away).

HTH

Last edited:

IMFOCSD