Protective Styles Preventing Me From Really Knowing My Hair. No Protective Styles In 2017...

Gr8ness83

So I am creating a goal for myself; absolutely no extensions, weaves, braids, additions of any kind for 2017. I am a Federal Police Officer and the grooming standards and regulations are very similar to military grooming standards and regulations. I started this job in June 2012 when my hair was shedding and thinning like crazy because of birth control. I did not see any growth progress until around March 2013, and shortly after I went to Reneice for a sew-in. She cut my hair above my shoulders for a fresh start. The sew-in was beautiful, I left it in for the recommended amount of time but between training, my job, school, home life, I was not able to get back in to see her. As I mentioned before, the regulations for hair is similar to the military's so I have to always keep it pulled back in a bun or something. I kept my natural hair out while I was off work but since I have to wear a hat for work, I would have to brush it back into a ponytail. This led to major damage in the back because I would add a phony-pony or wrap curly weave around it and secure it with bobby pins. OMG! I am not sure how some of you have the success that you do with the phony-ponies because they broke my hair off in the back of my hair and I had no idea until I was rubbing my hands through my hair one day and realized that the sides by my ears were soo much longer, my nape and the area right above it were maybe 2-3 inches stretched while the sides were about 10, the front was about 3-5 inches depending on the area and I had a bald spot from where I ripped out some hair when I sewed in a track too tight. I took a good look at my hair and the damage that I was doing to it (including heat damage from blending my hair into the weave). I cut off the heat damaged portions which left me with the oddest hair shape, especially when it was curly. I decided that, since I have to wear my hair pulled