Protective Styling vs. Low Manipulation

yardyspice

Newbie here so school me ladies. This came up in a previous thread and I wanted to get some more feedback from everybody. Do you have to do both or can you do either to see results. For instance, braids are low mani but can they really be a ps when your ends are exposed to the elements? A full head weave seems to be the only true ps+low mani. Thoughts?

Fine 4s

Newbie here so school me ladies. This came up in a previous thread and I wanted to get some more feedback from everybody. Do you have to do both or can you do either to see results. For instance, braids are low mani but can they really be a ps when your ends are exposed to the elements? A full head weave seems to be the only true ps+low mani. Thoughts?

Hey yardy,

I've retained length because of both my low-mani and protective styling methods. My ends are rarely exposed. Most of my days are spent in braids and each of those braids are tucked in.

You do not have to do both.
Low mani allows me to avoid snagging, pulling, breaking and overly manipulating the strands. Protective styling allows my hair to remain protected from the outside elements and in the winter from getting caught in sweaters, hats are other non-friendly clothing materials.

If I'm wearing a braid-out for a week then that's a low-mani because I'm not combing but my hair is exposed to the elements. Wigs are not the only true LM and PS styles possible unless you're even more extreme that me in that the whole head must be protected from the elements. In that case, I hear you. For example, braids with or without extensions are both low mani and protective because each strand is protected as it is woven together like a big hug :)

aa9746