Relaxed, 2 different types of Textures 9 weeks Post

mahogany_horizons

Hi Ladies,

I have been too busy to post to this site as often as I would like. My hair care journey is going great. I think I can claim BSL, and after I am relaxed, (that's an old pic in the siggy) (I get a relaxer in 2 weeks) I will post a picture, and you can let me know if I made it. Hubby was able to stretch several sections of my hair to BSL, but the sides are still either APL, and a few are chin length from where I had bangs ages ago.

Now here is my question, I am 9 WEEKS POST, I'm trying to stretch to 11 Weeks. I normally get a relaxer every six to 8 weeks, so I am just learning about my hair textures after all these years. Okay, here is my question, every place on my hair, except 1/2 inch around the front of my hair line, is soft, managable, and to my surpise, extremly wavy, but soft little waves, almost like my father's hair.....if ALL of my hair was like this, I could stretch for probably 4 months, especially if not wearing straight styles because I would not have to worry about damage along the demarcation new growth line (going from wavy to bone straight). That texture is cosher, I can rollerset by letting it airdry and everything. 9 weeks post, and I don't need to touch a flat iron.

BUT THAT 1/2 inch around the very front of my hairline (yes the part where everyone sees) has new growth, but the new growth, while wavy when you look really close, is hard, and wirey, it's almost a different texture. It's like, the back of my hair is 3c, and the front just that 1/2 inch is 4A.

And looking back I recall my mom putting relaxer around my hairline every 4 weeks, but sometimes she would wait almost 12 weeks to perm the newgrowth on the back of my hair. I'd ask her why, and she'd be like, only the edges around the front of your hair are rough, and those were the ones she'd be greasing and frying only 3 weeks post perm with the pressing comb.