~~~Relaxed Bunning Thread~~~

sunnieb

Ok, I'm thinking of going back on a bunning regimen for most of 2013.

I know we all bun at some time or another, so why not put all the info in one thread? :grin:

Anything bunning related goes here! Tips, pics, accessories, thread links, etc.

I'll be back! :yep:

freckledface

shortdub78 I'm wearing a sock bun for the first time. Why was it bad for you hair? I figured the sock would be drying so I wrapped it in plastic wrap. What yall think??

Evolving78

the plastic may help, but the manipulation of it alone isn't worth it for me. i'm talking about securing the hair around it too.

Loving

I need some bun styles. I always use a donut even though my hair is past APL. I'm lazy.........

WantNatural

:wave: Hi ladies! I'm natural, but after taking a break from bunning for a few weeks with twist outs, I'm ready to start again. I've been wearing the same baggy bun for close to two years - ready to change it up and learn new ways to secure my hair. Thanks divachyk for sharing these links. I never realized there was such a variety of banana clips. I've already found some that I think will work better on my hair than the traditional clip. Your blog has some great information!

divachyk

Instagram: adaybyjay
I have pages of pics on my LHCF blog -- enjoy. :grin:

Tips.....
-Use banana clips for making ponytails and good days hair pins for securing.

-As a change up method, to not cause stress on my hair, I will bun by twisting the hair and then securing with tools like spin pins, metal duck bill clips or other gentle tools.

-Don't pull the hair too tightly to avoid stress on edges and nape.

-Re-do frequency determined by my hair needs. If it needs a boost of moisture, I'll take it down nightly, moisturize & re-do the bun. If moisture is on point, then I'll keep the bun in until it looks old or my hair needs additional moisture.