relaxing bleached hair

lurkersincejan

I have been searching and havent found the answered I am looking for, so here I am. All relaxers say not for bleached hair, and I have CON no base relaxer (bought it a month ago) I was just wondering as far as the touch up, it is absolutely a no no to get any relaxer on the bleached hair or is is just a time frame? I've had the color for about 3 weeks now and Im taking care of it really well. Not planning on relaxing for a couple weeks but I wanted to know, so that I could prepare.

dm81

I've been bleaching my hair for about 12 years and have had no problems with relaxing, but if you notice that the color is still close to your roots, then don't do it.

Ericka

I don't know about this one. A friend of mine did the exact opposite. She relaxed her hair and then bleached it a few weeks later. My stylist was the one who actually did her hair and she basically said that she had to wait atleast 2 weeks after relaxing before adding color, whether bleaching or just plain coloring. I would say get a professional opinion before making any decisions.

You should not get the relaxer on the bleached hair. Bleach and a perm is already a double process, so you don't want that extra damage. That's why they always tell you to color a perm and not to perm a color. If you perm a color, your hair is surely going to suffer. I would wait until I have adequate new growth and then relax. It's natural that a little of the relaxer will get on the colored hair, but it's best to have more new growth so that you can minimize the amount of perm that comes in contact with the bleached hair. HTH, good luck.

lurkersincejan