Scissor Happy Hair Stylist Catastrophe

cara72

This is my first time posting. I usually lurk. I thank everyone for the advice they've given on LHCF, because it was immensely useful the first couple of years I went natural, and my hair grew past my collarbone, and it looked beautiful.

Now, it's just gone. I've been my own stylist for two years since going natural. The last time I sat in a stylist chair, following my big cut, she pressed my hair with high heat, so it left my curl pattern permanently damaged in one spot.

I grew it out, though. With the tips I've gotten from other naturals, my 4a-b hair grew past my collarbone, and was bra strap in the back (the longest it's ever been in my life). I even inspired other girls to go natural.

Now, I can't even look in the mirror. I'm so embarrassed. I went in to place called Cuts R Us to get my split ends trimmed off. By the time I left a good four inches was gone on the sides and five or more in the back. All of the progress I made the latter half of my first year and second year -- all gone thanks to this woman.

Now I'm literally left with a "boy cut" that I can't even style. I can't even wear twists outs -- that's how f'ed up it is. And I could wear one my first year after my big cut. So, that tells you how badly she messed it up. If I had a pet, I wouldn't even trust this woman to give a cut to my dog.

I feel like this stylist did this on purpose. She was a 4a natural too for six years. But she had a TWA she constantly cut because she didn't know how to care for her own hair. And she mainly took care of the hair of white boys/girls. She said didn't even know how to style her own hair, and just kept cutting it off because she didn't know what to do with it.

I'm usually a peaceful person, but if I saw her in the streets, I'd probably give her a beat down. My hair is up in twists now, but I'm devastated. I will never, NEVER let anyone else touch my hair, except for me, in the future.