Sore and itchy scalp with faux dreads! Halp!

GraceJones

Ladies, I've been bad. I have seborrheic dermatitis (dandruff) but I hadn't washed my hair in a month. My hair was in faux dreads. I've been using faux dreads as a protective style for about 6 months. I keep them in for about 2 months at a time. I've only given myself about a week's break in between installations.

My derm prescribed me Ketoconazole shampoo and also Fluocinolone scalp oil to use but I hadn't used it in a while. I've been neglecting myself due to work.

When I took out my last install my scalp was soooo sore! It hurt to even move my hair. I thought if I simply washed my hair with the medicated shampoo, the pain would get better. Wrong. I got another install against my better judgment. My scalp was sooo sore and itchy. I had to take it out after a week. I couldn't take it. I took it out and washed it again with shampoo.

Now I'm just wearing my natural hair in 4 sections twisted. I just want my scalp to feel better. It's still a bit painful to the touch but wayyyy better than before. I'm not sure what the issue was. Was it the weight of the faux dreads on my scalp? Is it because of my seborrheic dermatitis?

Anyway, I'm just gonna wear my natural hair for a while. I just don't know how to protective style it! I don't like manipulating my hair more than once a month because I'm a slow grower.

Black Ambrosia