The SOUTH AFRICAN hairsalon I used to work in

Heavenly

I was inspired to write this post because I got so many comments on my blowout "skillz".

See, in my highschool days, I got a little temp job at a Haircare Clinic doing odd things like sweeping the floors, packing product and shampooing clients.

I got the job because my mom used to frequent that salon. One day I walked in and said, "Hello, I was wondering if I could work here... you know... clean the windows or something."

The boss said, "Sure, grab a uniform."

Yeah, we had to wear uniforms. White nurse dresses.

As time progressed, I graduated to other things like rollersetting, applying relaxer... and doing some clinical things like electro scalp massage and analysis.

I never went for training or anything. I just learned by watching the older stylists and asking them to show me 'stuff'.

Eventually, I graduated highschool, went to college... 6 years went by... and the boss started letting me do fullblown relaxers, prom curls... and I even got a few regulars who requested me only.

Mothers wanted me to do their daughters hair. They never fussed when I did it. :grin:

I never learned how to cut though. A little too intense for me.

At the end of my stint there, I was working the books, ordering supplies... and did Saturday morning salon management. It was a great first job to have.... one that lasted until I got my first 'big girl' career job.

It was a beautiful salon. Saturdays were always packed, and get this... our main specialty were RELAXERS. And get this....our boss was an older english white man. He is probably close to 70 years old today. He knew his game well. Racist as all heck... but we got him back in other ways. :rolleyes:

We probably had about 30 to 40 girls working there. A mix of permanent stylists and about 15 temporaries and interns.