Thinking of cutting it off

Blu217

I have some mystery breakage at the nape I've been growing out for several months now. Breakage is not a common experience for me, and I have no idea what caused it. The breakage is growing, but it's a broader patch than I first realized and I'm not sure if I just noticed it or if more hair is breaking now; that's my concern. The broken part is at shoulder; the rest of my hair is BSL. My daily style is a loose bun in a hair clip.

I'm debating just chopping it to neck length and starting over. I'd thought I'd just let it grow out and catch up since my rollersets don't show it, but I can't wear straight styles because of the unevenness in the back. Now that I'm transitioning and would like to flat iron periodically to smooth the roots, I'm wondering if just cutting it wouldn't be best.

What do ya'll think? Should I be patient and stick it out, or cut it short? I love and vastly prefer my hair long and dislike the thought of cutting it, but... it's just hair, it does grow back and I just want a healthy head of it.

Last edited:
I'm all for cutting little by little as the shorter parts grow out. Try that first and if you still can't stand the difference then go ahead and cut it even.

cutiebe2

try and find the culprit..if you all of a sudden have breakage in the nape then maybe its the way you wear your hair daily or wrap your hair at night that is starting to pull away at the hair. CC also gave good advice about slowly evening the hair out

PaulaDiddy

Right on CC! I am already impress with the trim until its even photos. Personally I would not do a drastic hair cut to SL. Cutting a little until satisfied is best. So therefore there would be no regrets. You have done a good job with your hair thus far. Make sure you figure out the cause of the breakage so that it won't occur again.

Tee

CandiceC said: