Thinking Of Getting A Cold Perm - Pros? Cons?

LadyPBC

Hi - help!

I've been natural for 11 years. At first it was fun and I enjoyed being chemical free. I expected a different texture that just simply did not exist except for my nape area. It turned into a challenge with failed styling attempts, improper preparation (hair not dry but I still have to move forward), long hours with weekends devoted to hair care, arranging my schedule around hair care and basically not ever finding what was perfect for me.

I've been wearing a wig daily for the past 2-3 years. I do absolutely nothing to my natural hair. I like my wigs but I'm ready to enjoy a little more freedom and convenience. I'm thinking of getting a Wave Nouveau curl. My hair is probably about 60-70% gray, shoulder blade length but my ends are not in good shape. I had to cut a chunk of hair from the nape area because it was matted (packing on condish as a moisturizer).

Here is my thought process:

PROS:
  • low maintenance (wash or moisturize and go)
  • inexpensive (I'd rather have the Gina Curl but it is cost prohibitive at this time)
  • more styling options with my length (buns)
  • more polished presentation
CONS:
  • it's a chemical
  • once I get it I'm fully committed
  • fewer styling options (blow out)
  • not sure that I want to rock gray hair at this stage in my life so I will need color (2 chemicals?)
  • haircut to mask the chunk of hair that was cut in the nape area
I'm wondering if you could share your thoughts, experiences, suggestions please?! Thanks!

Last edited:

Godsdaughter001

Instead of getting a wave nouveau (didn't even know they still did those!) ...
Assuming you are going to have to go to the salon and get it done anyway, have you considered getting your hair cut and styled (i.e. blow out and straightened) and get it maintained every 6 weeks?