TRANSITIONING PROTECTIVE STYLES...HELP, PLEASE?!?!

Sonye93

Hey everyone, I need ALL THE HELP I CAN GET:perplexed!!! I have been transitioning for 10 months now. And I need a change. I need more hairstyles to do. I've SEARCHED AND SEARCHED, but I don't know why I cant find anything:ohwell:. I need protective styles that don't involved braids or twists, that I can do daily for school. The two textures in my hair create this anorexic look when I do twists:nono:, which is why I don't want to do them to create an updo. I LOVE updos. Another problem is the front of my hair, it's hard to slick down even with EcoStyler Gel, an ideas?

PLEASE ANY HELP AT ALL IS WELCOME!!!:yep::yep::yep:

Sonye93

^ yea, I have. They aren't working so well now that I am 10 months in, which is why I do updos. They don't come out good at all, and neither do they last.

dr.j

I'm pretty boring --- I bun. Do you use eco styler gel and then put on a scarf? I find that works for me when I do that before I jump in the shower and keep the scarf on until I leave the house.

destine2grow

I'm transitioning and I am 18wks post or 4mths. I wear bantu knot outs, braid outs, and rollersets. I also wear wigs and will be getting a sew-in, in the near future.

Sonye93

Napp, I dont use heat too often, maybe once every few months, last time I did, I THOUGHT i heat damaged my hair and was so paranoid.

dr.j, no, I haven't tried the scarf method, I guess that's next, thanks. What kind of buns do you do? I like buns and updos.

destine2grow, thanks, but that phase has passed for me, it was great in the beginning, but now my hair doesn't cooperate =/.

lilsparkle825

I know you said no twists, but what about flat twists? When I was transitioning I found that they didn't give me that "anorexic twist" thing going on between the thicker roots and the relaxed ends. Braidouts are always good for transitioning too.

Napp

Ms. Nobody