Truly two different types of textures 3b/3c/4a

mahogany_horizons

Hey Ladies...

So I am about 10 weeks post now. And I've been doing this hair thing for about two years now, so I'm pretty sure what I am writing is accurate, as I've gotten to know my hair in every conceivable way over the past two years. I have come to the conclusion that I have two completely and I do mean COMPLETELY different types of textures on my head. When I first started this thing, and I actually looked at my new growth, I thought I was a 3c with Patches of 4a in the front. NOWWWW I think I am a 3c/4a Mix in the front, BUT A 3B in the back!

I keep thinking back to the way my mother used to relax me before I would stretch so long. She would feel the crown of my hair and be like, "you need a spotter", and she would relax my crown, and my edges around the front 4A FOR SURE! And she would not relax the back at all, maybe she'd come back and do it in 4 or 5 weeks or so. Even now, the relaxer only sits on the back of my hair for a couple of minutes, but I'd better keep it forever on the front if I want it to be straightened!

OK, I know that this is getting long winded, but I am 10 weeks post. My hair in the back is growing, I can feel the texture is different, but it's soft, and fine, and the curls are really loose, almost like waves, easy to comb through, no product applied, detangling that half of my head takes 2 minutes. Am I wrong for wishing all of my hair was like this??!!

The top of my hair is drier, much more tightly curled, and is soooo much harder to detangle. It takes 40 minutes! If I'm too heavy handed with the back of my hair, it will be soggy, but I need to almost drench the top in product and use a spray bottle to get through it without breakage. The front edges meanwhile, 4a gets dry, hard, kind of tangly, and I have to be very careful with how I comb through that area so as not to cause breakage.