Two Strand Twist Protective Style

Hello!

My name is Selena and I'm a newbie.

I would like to wear medium two strand twist for the entire year of 2016 as a protective style. bunning, wash n go's, braids with hair etc doesn't work for me and I either get knots, tangles and dryness with these styles.

Two strands twist seems to be the only style that my hair likes and keeps the shedding and breakage to a min.

I would like to take them down every 2 weeks to wash, deep condish, moisturize n seal and then retwist again.

Would this be to much manipulation on my hair?

Has anyone seen growth and thickness with this method?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thank you.

overtherainbow

@NaturallyKweenBee
This is almost my exact reggie! Every week I prepoo, wash, and DC my hair (alternating between protein and moisturizing products). I then do medium/small twists on my own hair. If I'm feeling up to it, I do small/mini twists. My usual twists take about 45 minutes to complete. I then wear my twists Monday-Friday in an updo (buns, French rolls, tucked over ponytails). Friday nights, I let my hair down to go out and I retwist on sunday mornings. So my hair only sees the light of day for a little over 1 day.

I think my hair is growing lol. I feel like every time I check, I'm closing in on waist length. I will note that my nape (where I got minor breakage ) went from shoulder length to APL/BSL) pretty darn quickly. I don't leave my twists in for two week because I need to wash my hair more frequently to see growth and my twisting skills aren't great enough to get a set to last two whole weeks without looking crazy.

@overtherainbow good reggie. Do you moisturize n seal throughout the week? I co-washed on Wednesday because my scalp was an itchy mess. I have freezy twist now, but I will stay strong and wait until next week to take them down.

How long did it take you to see some growth?

overtherainbow