Wearing buns, ponytails, etc. and thinning edges

northernbelle

My stylist believes that the reason my edges thinned out is because of wearing buns and ponytails, and the stress and tension of pulling/brushing my hair back to achieve these styles.

So, I have been wearing my hair in a style for the past several months. While my edges have certainly filled in, my ends have suffered.

So, my question is: How does one wear protective styles, and preserve the hair line?

I actually like wearing my hair pulled back. It keeps me from playing in it, not to mention keeps my ends soft and strong.

Is there a happy medium?

northernbelle

Allandra

I mainly wear my hair with a middle or side part. This way, my hair is kinda like pulled down then gathered in the back. However, I always make sure my bun isn't too tight.

Leslie_C

northernbelle,
I think the key is not to cake gel onto the hairline which makes it hard and prone to breakage/thinning over time. Also, u might make it a point to not pull your hair back too tight and to put extra moisturizer on your hairline.

I think that profectiv breakfree might be kind of good for the hairline too because it is a moisturizer but it is also a strengthener.

simplycee

Sweetest Taboo
I agree with Allandra, try using a side or center part and alternate. I never brush my hair into a bun or ponytail. I smooth my hair with my hands while wet. HTH

SouthernGirl

Hi Northernbelle,

I've struggled w/the same issue on the past so I feel your pain! I wear my hair back almost everyday but it's not really a bun. I don't think it's long enough to wrap around enough times to make a bun, so what I do is take a satin or silk scrunchie (always in either black or dark brown to match my hair color) and make a ponytail but I don't let it hang. Once I pull it through the holder the second time, I only partially pull the hair out, then spray Surge or apply Salerm 21 on the ends then tuck them away.