What is scab hair?

Stiletto_Diva

So I've been transitioning for a little over 6 months and my texture is starting to change. At first I just had poofy kinky newgrowth with no curl definition. Now I'm starting to see that more and more of my hair is turning into coils and ringlets. Someone told me that the earlier newgrowth was scab hair and that my true texture was just now starting to show.
My question is: What is scab hair and how long does it take for the true texture of hair to show?

Rapunzel*

ive heard that scab hair is when some parts of your hair is still straight from the relaxer
but again these are not my words:nono:

and some say theres no such thing as scab hair:yep:

morehairplease

ive heard that scab hair is when some parts of your hair is still straight from the relaxer
but again these are not my words:nono:

and some say theres no such thing as scab hair:yep:

I have heard both of these two. I, myself, believe in scab hair. I have bc three times so far and each time have had to deal with scab hair(with each time resulting in me relaxing again if that says anything :wallbash::rolleyes::perplexed).

discodumpling

After I BC'd I had scab hair. I intended to trim agressivelly for the 1st 6 months to be done with it. But DC’ing often did the trick and after trimming monthly for the 1st 3 months of my journey I decided to trim as needed…and with proper care that’s not often at all.
My scab hair was wiry and a totally different texture than the rest of my napps. I might have trimmed unnecessarily to begin with because 1 yr later my hair is still wiry in some places. I just baby my hair and keep it moving.

BrooklynSouth