BYOR? Bringing your own relaxer products to the salon

pyxis777

Hey ladies,

Do any of you bring your own relaxer products to the salon? I have decided to go from natural to relaxed in '06, but I'm paranoid about the products that they will be using on my hair. I am worried that they won't use enough of the protectants and neutralizers if they're using their own products. Has anyone had any experience with this? I want to bring in the Affirm Lye mild 4 step process that I would buy online. Thanks!

SparklingFlame

You know, back when I was still relaxing I often thought about bringing my oroducts to the salon for the stylist to use but I never could muster up the guts. You know how WE are! I think that if you do bring your own stuff, he/she should give you a discount. I think its a good idea to do it. After all, it is YOUR hair!

SweetCaramel1

hi! i've never done it before but i think it's a great idea. i would definitely have a 5-10 minute conversation with the stylist PRIOR to making an appointment about your needs, likes and concerns. also to make sure they are ok with it. many stylists think they know everything. communication is very important.

pyxis777

LOL. That's my problem. I'm a people pleaser. But I've been burned too many times (litterally) so I'm really considering this. I figure I will call them next week and ask what their policy is on that.

BAILEYSCREAM

pyxis777 said:
Hey ladies,

Do any of you bring your own relaxer products to the salon? I have decided to go from natural to relaxed in '06, but I'm paranoid about the products that they will be using on my hair. I am worried that they won't use enough of the protectants and neutralizers if they're using their own products. Has anyone had any experience with this? I want to bring in the Affirm Lye mild 4 step process that I would buy online. Thanks!