Does anybody elses hair HATE PROTEIN, or is it just mine.......

Alisha08

Hey ladies, I just really can't understand it. My hair HATES PROTEIN!!! I just can't figure out why I get breakage and when I try to do something about it it breaks even more. I did an Aphogee 2 min protein treatment tonight and lost sooooo much hair. :nono: I could cry.:cry: I thought protein was supposed to stop breakage (and prior to this i've been avoiding protein for the last 2 months, i've only been using moisturizing products). What is a girl to do????

newflowers

I used to think my hair hated protein too. What I discovred it mky hair needed extra, extra moisturizing when I used protein. I have also found that if I use a lighter protein on a consistent basis (followed by deep conditioning with mositure, of course) my hair is very happy with no breakage.

I don't think it's the protein; I think it is the combination of protein and moisture.

BlackPearl1

I also use to think my hair hated protein. Then I realize it hates stronge protein. My Hair loves light protein. I use GPB by Aubrey Organics . TRY IT, YOU WILL LOVE IT :grin:. You can get it at a whole food store or Vitman Shoppe. good luck

Extremus

I thought mine did too, because I got more breakage and shedding after I used Aphogee 2 Min Reconstuctor. Although, I did follow it with a deep conditioning which was a protein/conditioner (ORS Mayo). But I washed my hair and deep conditioned 1 and a half week from then [which is now] w/ Humecto [my fav.] and it's still shedding :sad:

brownsugarflyygirl

Protein overload can definitely cause breakage because it causes your hair to be brittle and reduces its elasticity. I believe that whenever most ladies on the board do a protein treatment, they follow with a moisturizing conditioner. I would do a mositurizing DC to restore your moisture and follow that with daily moisture sealed with oil to restore your hairs elasticity.