Help me find a new relaxer!

amwcah

My relaxer history is as follows. I have been self-relaxing for the past 17 years with occassional professional relaxers by beauticians. I have used Dark & Lovely and Soft & Beautiful relaxers for about 15 years. I would alternate between the two of these when my hair became resistant to one. For the past 1 1/2 years I used SE, which left my hair feeling very straight and thinnnnnnnnn!:eek: Now I'm on a 6 month relaxer stretch to thicken up my hair :D and perhaps transition:)confused:). Also, I'm on the C&G Challenge. Now, another dilemma is whether I should switch to a lye relaxer. Robin(from C&G) has peaked my curiosity. She states that lye relaxers are less drying to the hair. You know I probably have had a lye relaxer before and not known. Do all stylist use lye relaxers:confused: Also, I know alot of you rave about ORS, so I was thinking about it, Motions, or just going back to my roots of D&L or S&L.

Okay, so. Should I go with a lye or no-lye relaxer? Which relaxer?

janeemat

I just posted comments about the relaxer I use in another thread. This is what I wrote:

Den, I think with no lye you just have to step up the moisture because from what I understand they can be drying. My stylist has been using the Affirm no lye on me for over a year and my hair has body and shine, it's not dry and it straightens very well. I always used lye prior to going to him and would always get chemical burns and have a cooked scalp. I suffered through this for years thinking that's how it was suppose to be. My stylist of 15 years never suggested switching relaxers from lye to no lye. All I can say now is I don't even no the chemical is on my hair when he's relaxing me. When I switched stylist, I stepped up my game of caring for my hair and it has worked well. I learned that moisture and protein is the key to keeping relaxed hair on the head. My hair is growing and is getting thicker.

crlsweetie912